Taste the Rainbow Cupcakes

I’ve been an avid blog watcher of Curious Cupcakes on Livejournal. In ’08, I decided to face my fears and make Ice Cream Cones Cupcakes for my daughter’s birthday. Trust me, they won’t burn as long as you pay attention to what you’re doing. The end results came with tons of compliments, jealous mothers and a happy child.

Ingredients: Duncan Hines White Cake mix – 2 boxes, Neon food coloring, Homemade Cream Cheese Frosting, and Ice cream Cones.

Utensils: Ziplock bags, a (2-Cups) Pyrex measuring cup, 1 tablespoon, 1 fork, one drinking glass, bread pan, and a mixer.

For the batter: I mixed 2 boxes of Duncan Hines as instructed. In a drinking glass, placed an opened ziplock bag (quart) inside. This way you can be ready for the batter. Pour 2 cups of batter unto the Pyrex. Then add the drops of desire color. Mixed it with the fork. Then I used the spoon to scoop the bottom where the color settled. When it was well incorporated, I poured the batter into the waiting bag. Seal it up and moved on to the next color. I washed the Measuring cup, fork, spoon and started ALL over again. It sounds like a pain, I know.

The Batter

Once that was assembled, I prepared the frosting.

Ingredients:

1 package of Cream Cheese, room temperature.

1 stick of butter, room temperature.

1 bag of Powdered sugar

1 teaspoon of Vanilla extract.

Mix the cream cheese & butter, scrape the sides. Add the Vanilla, mix. Finally add the powdered sugar, Slowly. I separated the frosting and made half pink and blue. But it’s up to you to decided. I used Ziplock bags to hold the frosting until it was time to use my piping bags. Stored it in the refrigerator for later use.

Now for the batter. Place the ice cream cones inside a bread pan. Then cut a tiny slit at the corner of each ziplock bag. Squeeze out a little bit of each color until its filled up half way. NO MORE THAN THAT! You don’t want to over fill them. I baked them as instructed on the box. But kept an eye on them. Before: Batter in the cones

After: What the cupcakes looked like without Icing.

Honestly, I had enough batter left over to make regular cupcakes and was able to find cute liners at my local Target.

Before: Left over batter in Cupcake liners.

After: A very cute Cupcake in a 60’s motif.

Once cooled for about an hour or so. It was time for the icing on the cake. Would you believe this was my first time using tips? For a cute touch I even added some star sprinkles on top.

The Finished Product

I hope you make it and may everyone give you tons of compliments.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dina
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 01:49:24

    Wow! I would have never thought of that! I’ve made ice cream cone cupcakes before but never with all the different colors. Loving your blog!

    Reply

  2. Tasha
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 17:21:08

    I want this for my Birthday next year !! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

